Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News

USDA Drought Disaster Designates 4 Massachusetts Counties & FSA Emergency Loan Program

Thursday, September 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

On August 29 and September 2, 2016 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) declared certain counties in New Hampshire as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by a recent drought.  As a result of the New Hampshire declaration, four contiguous Massachusetts counties are automatically designated as drought disaster areas including:  Essex, Franklin, Middlesex and Worcester counties.  A USDA declaration makes available emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency (FSA) to eligible producers to help recover from crop losses.  Link to the USDA press releases: and

Farm operators in the above designated counties are encouraged to contact their local USDA FSA county office.  The following link to the FSA home page includes a tab with county office contact information:  A link to the Emergency Loan Program describes the program in detail with information on what a producer should bring to a conversation with FSA loan staff:

MDAR’s mission is to ensure the long-term viability of agriculture in Massachusetts. Through its four divisions – Agricultural Conservation & Technical Assistance, Agricultural Markets, Animal Health, and Crop and Pest Services – MDAR strives to support, regulate and enhance the rich diversity of the Commonwealth’s agricultural community to promote economically and environmentally sound food safety and animal health measures, and fulfill agriculture’s role in energy conservation and production. For more information, visit MDAR’s website at, and follow at

Site Map
Home    News    Events    Membership    MCH    Jobs   
About    Links    Contact

Conway, Massachusetts 01341
Rena Sumner, Executive Director

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal